Where did the time go?

Today I made Mum’s Christmas shortbread, a tradition now. Our Christmas’ would not be complete without it. Even two years ago as I struggled in pain recovering from the first of two operations after being diagnosed with “The Cancer” it was made. Two lovely friends helped, I started it and instructed them then went to the couch and listened to them laughingly. Today of all days it was an appropriate taak. The batch I made today will be our one for Chrstimas Day. On this day, the 39th anniversary of her death I made her shortbread so she is still a part of our Chrsitmas.

Where did 39 years go? My brother’s post broke my heart, ‘Not sure where those 39 years have gone. Still waiting for mum to come home I know its never going to happen but I’m sure this little one was sent as a beautiful replacement’. We have noticed in the last month or so just how much like our mum his daughter is looking – there is a photo of mum as a toddler and it is glorious how alike they are.

Still today after 39 years I think of the mother we had and the love she had for us and we still have for her.

“The Cancer” stole her from us and as I type I am in tears knowing her heart would break at having to leave us.

I fucking hate cancer.


 

 

This entry was posted in Australia, Cancer, Family, Life, Love, Mother, The things that make you go grrrr ..., The things you feel ..., The things you imagine!, The things you know!, The things you think ..., The things you wish ..., The things you wonder!, The things you write ..., Time. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

