Daily Prompt: If You Leave

This prompt made me sing, immediately … If you leave me can I come too?
A song from 1981, when I was 17 … is that possible, it was that long ago? I think I knew it from a few years later … a party in a house, a fire in the backyard … singing loud and dancing like crazy … these were friends I had from school, friends I spent lots of time with but friends I no longer see so I guess they aren’t friends anymore, a beginning and an end.

But … back to what I wanted to write about the actual prompt!

“Life is a series of beginnings and endings. We leave one job to start another; we quit cities, countries, or continents for a fresh start; we leave lovers and begin new relationships. What was the last thing you contemplated leaving? What were the pros and cons? Have you made up your mind? What will you choose?”

I contemplated leaving 2 1/2 years ago, I let myself be talked out of thinking I could do it, I started to be the one who was not in control, I let them talk me into thinking I was someone that I wasn’t, I let them spook me, I let them bring out all of my insecurities, I let them scare me so much that I didn’t love it anymore and that would be heartbreaking, I let them get inside my head. There were no pros … except maybe one, more time to know and decide who I was keeping if I left … the cons were immense with friends saying words like toxic, run, go, there was physical illness, mental anguish … but then I realized I had the strength and I made the choice to stay and change both myself and them.
The decision hasn’t finally been made because I’m watching, waiting, thinking of starting again elsewhere … if they don’t play nice why would I bother to stay?

Daily Prompt: If You Leave

This entry was posted in Australia, Daily Prompt, Education, Friends, Melbourne, The things you feel ..., The things you hear, The things you imagine!, The things you realize ..., The things you remember ..., The things you see ..., The things you think .... Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt: If You Leave

  1. Pingback: I LEFT… INTO LIFE | hastywords

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Goodbye, My Dear!” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: If You Leave [VIGNETTE] | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

